吃喝玩乐在马六甲 (Day 1 – 1 May)

And indeed we made an early check-in … 15mins earlier than the stated 7.30am. But luckily becos of this, I was able to make a fast to and fro trip back home to get my FORGOTTEN PASSPORT!!!!!

Am gladful that NL suddenly mentioned to us about her dad reminding her of her passport while she was wondering why. Anyway all 3 of them were still in a daze when I told them I dun have mine with me and quickly boarded a cab, dumping my luggage to them. They meant it as a joke man! But I’m SERIOUS!!!!

I was lucky to board a cab with a friendly and helpful driver who tried all his best to have me reach hm and return back to the bus terminal within half an hour … SAFELY. Maybe because of the chatty driver that I dun feel nervous at all during the journey, despite him telling me that he was left with the last deductional points of his driving points :-O. And with the coordination from my dad to break opened my locked drawer for my passport and bring it down to the roadside instead of me going up, I managed to reach the terminal at exactly 8am. **Phew! :D**

News of my forgetfulness travelled to my relatives’ ears even before I arrived at their place. All thanks to 妈咪 that it soon became the joke of the trip, when everyone starting to remind me of my passport when we were packing to leave on the last day. **hmph**

Usually travelling by the tuas link was a breeze. But it wasn’t until the ‘limping guy’ incident that all vehicles including long-distance coaches have to undergo scanning one by one … which took us more than 20mins in the jam before getting cleared.

And partly becos of this jam, plus slight jam at the Ayer Keroh toll plaza, we reached Melaka (Malacca) an hr+ later than expected @_@

The 1st thing we did was to say hi to Ah Ee and Uncle F, as well as unloading our luggages temporary at their pl. Afterwhich we headed off for our 1st meal of the trip. Hainanese chicken rice balls v(^______^) … my 2nd times here.

From here onwards, my itinerary were all jumbled-up, but still covering the places where we wanted to go … and with additionals too ^_______^

Where do u often served with unlimited refill of soup back in spore, wat more it was nicely brewed black beans soup? Even an extra small bowl of the simple chicken rice soup may resulted in blackened-face from some hawkers.

Our unanimous conclusion was … the roasted chicken was nicer than the white chicken one. RM45.20 for the whole meal.

After a ‘heavy’ lunch, it was time for some ‘exercise’. Climbing right up to the top of St. Paul’s Hill via the flight of steep steps was indeed a ‘good’ cardio workout. If I remembered correctly, the last time I stepped up here was 8yrs ago (it seemed even longer for M), I dun remember having such steep steps those yrs back when I climbed up to this hill. Or was age catching up with me??? :-O

Time to walk down another flight of steep steps towards the A’Famosa fortress.

During the 3D2N stay in Melaka, we had spotted iguanas both in melaka big canal as well as tourist spots … and so much so that NL dreamt of them on the very 1st nite 😀

This was initially a stadium, padang Pahlawan, where Melaka obtained independence too (if I remembered correctly). It used to be a bull-cart field for tourists who wanted to experience the feel of sitting on the cart while being pulled by the buffalo. I tried once 14yrs ago.

Mahkota Parade used to be the largest shopping mall in Melaka until the build of the Dataran Pahlawan Megamall 2yrs+ ago which takes only less than 5mins walk from the A’Famosa fortress.

After having such heavy ‘cardio workout’, we decided to settle down for tea break at Old Town White Cafe as recommended by M.


Ice Fire Polo Bun (RM2.80)
The so-called “ice fire” was actually referring to the chilled butter.
Polo (pineapple in hong kong cantonese) bun without pineapple taste at all. This dish was a failure.


Peanut Butter Thick Toast (RM3.20)
Just like our own made peanut butter toast … but we still like it! 🙂


OLDTOWN Egg Toast (RM3.80)
kinda bombay toast with smooth kaya spread … nice!


Omega Soft Boiled Eggs (RM2.20)
my beloved half-boiled eggs … but wat got to do with the “omega”?? hmm …


Twin White Shake (RM4.20) / Mocha White Coffee (RM4.20) / Hazelnut White Coffee (RM4.20) / White Coffee Ice Blended Mocha (RM6.30)
cun remember which is which 😛

After shopping around at Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade, we decided to head back to Ah Ee’s hse to retrieve our luggages cos we were actually staying overnight at M’s apartment just at the next block for the next 2 nites.

We soon were heading for dinner after unpacking and cleaning up. And we bought this along the way. Tu Tu cake was the term used in Spore (wondering why was it called “tu tu” … guess must be some ways of selling via pushing cart or wat that came with a “tu tu” sound in the olden days), it was however called Putu Piring in Melaka. These were big, soft and juicy. Unlike those small, hard and dry ones of ours.

Time for an authentic peranakan dinner … Ole Sayang recommended by M (I think I saw Yummy King’s poster here).


Keropok (RM1.00)


Ayam Pong Teh (RM9.50)
chicken with salted brown-bean sauce. the sauce goes very nice with the rice 🙂


Sambal Udang (RM9.50)
simply our well-known sambal prawns


Sotong Goreng Chili (RM8.00)
the sotong were quite Q


Kangkong Goreng Chili (RM8.80)


Jenak (RM34.00)
taste just like asam fish


Chendol Kachang (RM2.00 ea)
1st chendol of the trip …


Rice (RM1.20 ea)
the chargable rice … ex wor … :-OOO

I was rather surprised that they charged on the sambal belacan (RM1.50) which we waited for so long too **fainted**

Total bill came up to RM107.40 … which was the most expensive meal of the trip. But being served in a restaurant and as compared to here, this authentic peranankan meal was still considered cheap for 5 pax.

After our dinner, as per my request, M drove us to J and her previous semidetached hses (would be side by side if not for the 2 houses inbetween theirs) at Tengkera for a look at the place where I used to stay when I was small during almost every school vacations until I stepped into tertiary level.

Another place where I frequently stayed before they moved out to the semidetached hse was the Jiu Lou building (the once tallest building in Melaka). How this building name “Jiu Lou” came about was simply because it was a 9-storeys building 😀 This building gave me both good and bad memories … which may be rather long-winded, and think if I had the extra time, I will do a write up on this separately (got to really wait loh! ^___*)

After making the trip, we proceeded to Melaka Raya to meet J and A for a round of drinks. It seemed that there were quite a number of new cafes popped up in Melaka … somemore they like to add an “Old” to their cafe name. First was the Old Town White Cafe, and now is the Old Taste Ipoh White Coffee. I guess all these were trying to attract ppl who like to reminiscence (like me :P). Ironically, those who patronised them were of the younger generations. I supposed, old (intact) coffee shops where our grandparents used to patron were still the best places for moments of nostalgia.

The nite didn’t just end here, but instead M drove us to this newly renovated place. And it was 11+ when we reached, but we were stunned by the sights we saw. Many ppl were still actively playing games like bungee-jump and rock-climbing :-O I thought mahjong is the only active game at nite 😛

Wat made me more stunned was to know that this used to be the old cramped express coaches terminal before they moved to the present roundabout one called The Sentral … Wat an AMAZING CHANGE!!!!

吃喝玩乐在马六甲 (Day 1 – 1 May)

Leave a Reply

