2007 Car Rally

I have always like treasure hunt this kind of game. Ever since the last treasure hunt along the whole stretch of EC beach I joined when I was pri 5, and being one of the treasure hunt organisers during my days in Dempsey, this was the 1st time I was involved in treasure hunting via car … namely the Car Rally.

This year was the 2nd year for the car rally where it was almost unable to be held due to lack of participants. I joined into the 8th team at the last min, which we called our team A380, with our coloured theme being PINK! (not my suggestion har? ^_*)

I was rather excited as the date came nearer and almost tried not to stuff myself too full the nite before … just incase I run toilets during the game. Luckily I was sicked earlier and decided to go on mc just the day before so that I can rest well and up running for the game 😛

I woke up with heart bumping, getting ready all the barangs esp the cameras … yes with a ‘s’ cos I scared one of them down or wat during the race =P … before setting off to the starting pt.

All teams were punctual and all ready to roar. But before the rally officially start, all teams had to complete a jigsaw puzzle simply showing the tower with 2 clocks first. Our team was the 1st to complete and upon grabbing the clue for the 1st check pt, off we speed to our car.

Each team was assigned different routes and clues leading to the next checkpoints where everyone had to perform various tasks. There were 4 different routes where 2 teams actually held on to the same route. Ours was route D which went from East to West, West to North, North to Northeast, and Northeast to West.

The moment we found the location of Lor Bekukong from the street directory, I had a feeling they were referring to the famous changi village nasi lemak stall. And zroom … off straight towards the stall, bypassing the already arrived commitee members. Whao! We were the 1st to reach there too : )

We were rather lucky cos by dunno-which team, the chicken wings had finished up and the stall owner had to re-fried new ones which was too hot to be consumed fast.

It wasn’t as simple as we thought so by just eating the nasi lemak up, but to eat that with disposible chopsticks without lifting up the plate :-O Proudly to say, I AM used to using chopsticks so it wasn’t a difficult task for me. We were then the 1st to leave for the next check pt without any team started with theirs. Everyone were looking at us with dismay 😛 We heard that some members started squatting and sweeping the rice and ingredients right into their mouth. Whao!

As our car went out to the main road, a committee member called to inform us that she had given us the wrong envelope. OMG! A short waste of time. Beening eager to get our right clue, we drove into the bus terminal instead 😛

Beening a ‘westerner’ and ‘schooler’ near that area, I immediately knew the exact location they were referring to. Moreover I had been to the amusement park 10yrs ago.

After parking the car near the mcdonald’s, we dashed straight to the park without knowing we bypassed the on-duty members until they called out to us 😛 Once again we were the 1st to arrive and they were rather shocked that we arrived so fast … again.

We were told to blow 2 balloons each until they burst … but seeing some of us have phobia with that (esp me 😦 ), they changed to any form of bursting them … where we passed over to our only guy member for the task 😀

But that’s not the only task we had to do before getting the clue to our next check pt. 2 of us had to climb up the pyramid climb after which all members had to slide down the … dunno wat it was called 😛

After clearing all the obstacles, we were given 2 clues (photo taking one + another check pt).

In order to follow according to our team’s route, we had to go to the photo taking spot before proceeding to the next check pt. Upon looking at the street name, I immeditately recognised the place to be at Holland Village and off we go.

The first thing that came to our mind was the windmill tower. And it seems to go the same for all teams. After searching in vain, we started asking around. Our members saw this ‘season-ed’ uncle sitting outside a restaurant and after asking him, he plainly lifted his hand pointing towards the top of a blue building infront saying “noh”. So now we know that there stood such an old building around ^_^

Luckily I have been to this mall a few times recently and so immediately directed them to AMK hub, dashing down to the NTUC Xtra HyperMart when we founded out that NS16 (given in the clue which I forgotten to take pix of) is AMK station.

We were given S$5 and a shopping list which consisted of purchasing 1 litre of Sinaco, 1 small pack of Ritz biscuits and 4 apples. CD being a semi-hsewife led the way. We thought that was all but who knows we were told to finish everything up :-O We were lucky in a way cos we bought small apples while some team(s) simply grabbed a ready packed Fuji apples :-O

After filling up our stomach with gassy drink+biscuits+apples, we had a hard time running back to our car 😛 (where I started feeling my stamina running low soon …)

This was actually shown in the wrong envelope that we took at changi village. After realising NE is where punggol area is, a spooky hse in that region reminded me of the abundoned hse I read from email and SPI years ago. But to be confirmed, we tried login on to internet from our laptop via the blackberry network 2 of our members have but the network wasn’t that stable and was very slow. In order not to waste time and my instinct told me that that was the one we were looking for, with the road direction given by CD (cos I only know how to go there by bus or LRT :P), we headed straight to the place. We managed to search online for the article, and BINGO! That’s the one I was referring to 😀

I have always been wanted to take pix of this mysterious hse but was scare too 😛 So this gave me a bold chance for a good shot. We were told that some other teams actually went into the hse and took pix. Whao! So daring … cos they did not read the article from SPI before :S

This was the last check pt. I had been watching the Red Dot programme when they went in search for our only rainforest and oso happened read a blog on their trip to swan lake, which immediately reminded me of the Botanic Garden. But then it was a big place, and so not to waste time searching for it, we went online again hoping for their map from their website.

J was rather shocked all the while cos I knew all those places including Taman Serasi where it was used to be opp Botanic Garden. Well … she dunno me too well u see =P

Basically other than going for the good food at Taman Serasi 10yrs ago, I had never taken a good walk around the Botanic Garden. Though it doesn’t mean that I could have a good walk this time, but it did gave me a freshy feel … something new to me ^_^

In order not to waste time since it was our last stop, we went straight to the information counter. The staff was VERY familiar with the request and directed us to the area on the map immediately =P

Actually there was slight arguement on the search of the heritage tree cos they couldn’t understand that heritage tree is only a term for the trees. And so we went round and round searching for one which actually it was near us 😦

After finding taking pix of those spots, we started heading to the Swan Lake in search for our committee members. Time was wasted as we went round the lake only to realise that the pavilion where the on-duty members were stationed was actually towards our right when we came to the swan lake … or simply opp the tree where we just took our pix 😦 Dunno was it because we were too enxious to complete our rally, or upon seeing CD & my stamina running low, J used up the only help call which could actually bring us a bonus time deduction at the end of the rally.

We were given a task which was to draw the 4 swans structure as seen from the middle of the lake. J quickly grabbed the coloured crayon and started ‘drawing’ it. We helped out by colouring it in order to beautify the long-necked-turtle-lookalike pix =P We were later told that bonus time deduction will be given to the team with the best drawing :-O Oh gone case then! hehehe …

We were told by the committee members that we completed our route very fast and all were actually looking out for our car. But who knows last yr champion T888 team coming from the other side of the road reached just few mins before us which final clocked time was earlier than us by 2mins 😦

Watever it was, I was very pleased with our result since I joined in for the 1st time, moreover I enjoyed the whole process ^___^

However, the rally din really ended here. SK and I who were the only 2 hungry souls went for a late meal despite the ‘junk’ we ate during the race. We continued our ‘race’ to QWSC and Orchard =P

BTW, the nasi lemak at changi village wasn’t as great as those food review reported. Even though we rushed thru the dish, we could taste and smell that it lacked the kind of pandan frangrance and dryness in the rice. The only nice one was the chicken wings. But then I would not travel so far for just the chicken wings when I could find equally nice chicken wings with nice nasi lemak near my place and even my office.

Well, to conclude the whole day event … the ‘secrets’ behind such race were:
1) hangout more
2) familiarise with road name where u frequented
3) read junk emails =P
Lastly … READ BLOGS ^_________^

2007 Car Rally

Leave a Reply

